Home Information District News
Latest News
The latest news from Wayland Union Schools.

Online Registration Information PDF Print E-mail
WUHS Softball Wins State Championship PDF Print E-mail

The Wayland Union High School Varsity Softball team won the Division 2 State Championship on Saturday, June 13, 2015. They defeated Frankenmuth 11-0 at the state finals held at Michigan State University. Congratulations to Coach Cheri Ritz and the Lady Wildcats!  This is the second State Championship for the school's softball program.

Congratulations to the 2015 Outstanding People for Education Winners! PDF Print E-mail

Congratulations to the 2015 Outstanding People for Education winners who were honored at the Allegan County School Boards Association Banquet on June 10.  These individuals have gone above and beyond to improve the lives of students and the quality of education in Allegan County!  Wayland Union Schools is proud to have Michelle Foster, Larinda Olds and Kevin Zaschak as the 2015 OPE award recipients!

Michelle Foster, Science Teacher, Wayland Middle School
Michelle is an outstanding educator in so many ways. She has been a mentor to many teachers and is generous with her time. She spends hours after school planning rigorous lessons and often gives up her lunch time to work with students. She continues to improve her teaching by attending conferences, reading widely on the concepts she is teaching, talking with people who work in the science related fields, and works closely with other science teachers. Michelle also co-leads the Robotics program at the middle school which requires additional planning, preparation and grant writing skills. She is passionate about teaching and forms relationships with students to help them succeed.

Larinda Olds, Title One Teacher Consultant
Larinda helps our teachers and students in so many ways. When she leads a professional development session, she leaves teachers excited to want to try whatever she has shared. Her knowledge and ability to explain student data is so useful.  She can look at a student and pinpoint exactly what the problem is and how to go about helping them. She has had an impact on education of our students due to her knowledge of ELA and intervention strategies.  Larinda has great compassion and empathy for kids who need it most and teachers say their students are spellbound when she leads a lesson. She has a great attitude and will always make you smile!

Kevin Zaschak, Principal, Dorr Elementary School
Kevin has been the principal at Dorr Elementary for only two years but has made a huge impact in that short time. He has earned the respect and loyalty from his entire staff and will do whatever is needed to make sure things run smoothly. Kevin will go above and beyond his role as principal by helping a teacher in the classroom, answering phones, playing with kids on the playground, and helping to keep the building clean. He has purchased winter boots for students, had a student’s glasses repaired, and even took a student to the daddy daughter dance who didn’t have a father. His background in special education gives extra insight into helping students succeed. He is a good listener, honest, and easily approachable. Kevin is a leader in every sense of the word!

Arendsen Accepted into Hope College Watershed Research Program PDF Print E-mail
Wayland High School Graduate Accepted
into the Hope College Watershed Research Program

Emily Arendsen, a graduating senior who is planning on studying biology at Hope College this coming fall, has been accepted into Hope College's Watershed Research Program this summer.  She will begin college a week early and will be collecting data from Lake Macatawa watershed.  The research project will be investigating human impacts on the watershed by analyzing sedimentation rates, phosphate runoff, and microbe populations.   

Emily was accepted into this program because of her research work with zebra fish as part of the Wayland Union High School science program in which students from AP Biology, anatomy, and other upper level science courses spend the last few weeks of the year conducting authentic research on the effects of such things as pollution and climate changes on zebra fish reproduction and embryonic development.  This program challenges the students to research and develop investigations looking at how certain pollutants or climate changes will alter the ability of zebra fish to reproduce and develop normally.  

This opportunity will further open doors for Emily as it will allow her to pursue summer intern programs next year in which she can continue performing STEM research.
Wayland Middle School presents Circus Olympus PDF Print E-mail

The Wayland Union Middle School Drama Advisory students will be putting on a performance of Circus Olympus, a mythical Greek comedy on June 2. The play is directed by WMS teachers, Nikkia Robinson and Rebecca Thebo. Doors open at 6:30 pm and the show starts at 7:00 pm and will be held in the middle school cafeteria. Admission is free.


Page 1 of 70