Home Information District News
Latest News
The latest news from Wayland Union Schools.

WUS School Board Approves 2015-2016 Casino Fund Use PDF Print E-mail
Wayland Union Schools Board of Education approved how the casino in lieu of tax monies will be spent in the 2015-2016 school year at the April 20th board meeting.  Each year the district receives about $1.5 million from the Gun Lake Casino revenue sharing. 

Changes made from last year’s uses include purchasing new buses at an estimated cost of $122,000 which will fund a portion of the $165,000 for new buses. New iPads will be purchased but will be financed over 4 years – a savings of nearly $47,000.

The Public Improvement Fund had an increase due to the projected cost of summer projects, including upgrades for a baseball field renovation.

Starting next school year, adults will now pay $5 to get into sporting events but WUS students will still be allowed free entry.  Fees will also be charged to adults for school plays.

The Student Accident Insurance program and PE Swim curriculum will be eliminated. Students in elementary schools will still receive free school supplies.

For more information on casino fund uses, please contact Bill Melching, Director of Finance & Operations at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or call 269-792-2181.
Last Updated on Thursday, 23 April 2015 04:22
WUHS presents The Outsiders PDF Print E-mail
Students from Wayland Union High School will perform The Outsiders for their spring play and will be directed by Rebecca Black.

The Outsiders is an adaptation by Christopher Sergel of S.E. Hinton's popular coming of age novel of the same name. The story centers on a rivalry between the tough, underprivileged Greasers and the have-it-made rich kids, the Socs, in a drama about the struggle of finding the "gold" in life.  

Wayland Middle School 8th graders read the novel, and the entire 7th and 8th grade class will be attending a matinee of the performance.

Public performances are Friday, May 1 and Saturday, May2 at 7pm and Sunday, May 3 at 3pm. Admission is free.  Wayland Union Fine Arts Center, 870 E. Superior Street, Wayland. 269-792-2254.
Ponyboy- Zack Karman
Johnny- Nick Wnuk
Bob- Josiah Buggs
Randy- JR Bouterse
Dallas- Ridge Reigler
Two-Bit- Randy Harrington
Darry- Corry Hancock
Sodapop- Riley Miller
Sandy- Yoheny Yanes
Cherry- Lexa Benn
Marcia- Destiny Brady
Mrs. O’Briant- Samantha Lewis
Jerry- Emily Henderson
Doctor- Lizzy Cobb
Nurse- Monique Pou
Mrs. Syme- Meg Berg
Paul- Zackery Harrington
WUHS held Mock Crash to Promote Safe Driving PDF Print E-mail

Wayland Union High School will hold Mock Crash prior to Saturday’s Prom to promote safe driving

Wayland Union High School’s Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) together with local law enforcement will held a mock crash on Friday, April 17 to promote safe driving.

Local emergency response personnel with their vehicles and equipment were on site during the event as they recreated a crash scene.  This powerful demonstration showed the student body what could happen if driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.  

Last Updated on Friday, 17 April 2015 05:53
Board of Education Approves Baseball Field Renovation PDF Print E-mail

The Board of Education voted on Monday, March 23rd, to include renovation of the Freshman/JV baseball field located behind Wayland Middle School as part of the district’s summer 2015 maintenance projects.  

This project, to comply with federal Title IX guidelines for comparable facilities, will mirror the components of the current Freshmen/JV softball diamond.  Therefore, the scope of the baseball field project will include addressing drainage issues at the site, leveling and re-seeding grass areas, constructing a handicap accessible 6’ sidewalk from the MS south parking lot to the site, installing irrigation, installing an outfield fence with a safety cap along with a stone dust warning track, and re-working the stone dust on the infield and re-building the pitcher’s mound.  To match the Freshmen/JV softball field, this baseball field will have team benches (no dugouts), bleachers, and no scoreboard.

Bids are being developed by Triangle Construction, to be submitted to contractors this week.  The project is anticipated to be completed by the end of August (weather permitting).  The availability of the field for use by the baseball teams in the spring of 2016 will be contingent upon this fall’s growing season and weather conditions next spring.

Baseball Field Design April 2015

Last Updated on Sunday, 12 April 2015 23:27
Scholastic Honors Night and Alumni Hall of Fame Induction PDF Print E-mail
Wayland Union High School students will be recognized for their academic achievement at the annual Scholastic Honors Night/Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.  The event will be held on Wednesday, April 15 at 7pm at the Wayland Union Fine Arts Center.

The evening will honor high school students in grades 9-12 who have earned a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Featured guest speaker is Ezekiel “Zeke” Fletcher who graduated from Wayland Union High School in 1998. He is the owner of Fletcher Law and general counsel of the Gun Lake Tribe and Gun Lake Casino. Zeke graduated from the University of Michigan in 2003 and the University of Wisconsin Law School in 2006. While attending Wayland Union High School, Zeke was a member of the National Honor Society, Debate Team, Forensics Team, and played golf, basketball and baseball.

In addition, two new members will be inducted into the Wayland Union Schools Alumni Hall of Fame -Norm Fifelski (class of 1965) and Roger Merren (class of 1967).  Fifelski is the owner of Hillcrest Mobil in Dorr, Dorr Subway, and Hungry Horse Campground. He has supported the community and school district in many ways. Merren has served on the Wayland Fire Department for 42 years and worked the chains at the home football games for 25 years. He recently retired from Harding’s Market in Wayland after 48 years. The Alumni Hall of Fame award began in 2001 and receives nominations from the public.  Individuals must have made an important contribution to Wayland Union Schools, the WUS community, or to society in general.  

The public is invited to attend this special event.   

Last Updated on Thursday, 02 April 2015 20:23
Page 5 of 72